2024 Keynote speakers

Anriette Esterhuysen

Anriette Esterhuysen was the executive director of the Association for Progressive Communications (APC) – the largest ICT-focused civil society network in the world – from 2000 to 2017. She continues to work with APC as Senior Advisor on internet governance and convenes the African School on Internet Governance (AfriSIG), a joint initiative of APC, the African Union Commission and Research ICT Africa. Anriette was appointed by the United Nations Secretary General to serve as Chair of the Multistakeholder Advisory Committee of the United Nations Internet Governance Forum from 2020 to 2021. She served on the Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace from 2017 until it concluded its work in 2020. She was inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame as a Global Connecter in 2013 for her work in extending internet connectivity in Africa and received the Electronic Frontier Foundation’s Pioneer Award in 2015. She currently serves on the boards of Connect Humanity, a US-based fund that supports internet connectivity for communities, the IGF Support Association and the South African Tertiary Research and Education Network – TENET.

Milton L Mueller

Milton Mueller is an internationally prominent scholar specializing in the political economy of information and communication. The author of seven books and scores of journal articles, his work informs not only public policy but also science and technology studies, law, economics, communications, and international studies. His books Will the Internet Fragment? (Polity, 2017), Networks and States: The global politics of Internet governance (MIT Press, 2010) and Ruling the Root: Internet Governance and the Taming of Cyberspace (MIT Press, 2002) are acclaimed scholarly accounts of the global governance regime emerging around the Internet. Mueller’s research employs the theoretical tools of institutional economics, STS and political economy, as well as historical, qualitative and quantitative methods.